I can’t because…

It’s December and I’m not wearing any shoes.

That’s my reason, please note I say reason not excuse, for not doing anything–it’s December and I’m not wearing any shoes.

December is just painful and the not wearing shoes is the family standard excuse for things. Let me explain:

One summer while visiting my parents in Kentucky, my children and I were sitting at the kitchen table when there was a knock at the door. I told Zachary to answer it since he was closest in proximity to the door. He said “I can’t, I’m not wearing any shoes.” I guess my brain did not register what he actually said because I got up and answered the door. On my way back to the table, I realized I had been duped. I looked at Zachary and asked what shoes had to do with answering the door. He said “I don’t know but it worked.” Forever more that is what we say when we don’t want to do the thing being asked of us–I can’t, I’m not wearing any shoes.

So when you ask anything of me this time of year, all I can say is I can’t because it’s December and I’m not wearing any shoes.

2 responses to “I can’t because…

  1. These stories say so much about Zachary’s sense of humor and just the way he thought about things. I will always remember this – and also when you shared about him rescuing the kitten.

    What an amazing, funny person he was, unique – and smart. “I don’t know, but it worked.” I can almost see him smiling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We all laughed at that time and we laugh still every time somebody says it. We never know which small moments in time will stick with us forever.

      Like

Leave a comment