Internment of Ashes

For 3425 days, I have ridden the roller coaster of grief; laying low in the sadness, functioning in the numbness, and railing against the universe in the anger. Throughout all of these, I have loved and missed my first-born child. I will carry this loss, his spirit, and my love for him for the remainder of my days.

Today we are laying to rest Zachary’s remains. The timing is off yet somehow perfect. Too soon because we would rather he be here with us – living, laughing and loving. Too late because his death came nearly 10 years ago. Right on time for this broken-hearted mother who can finally let go.

We bury his remains knowing that his soul has long been at rest and his spirit has never left us.

Friday May 12, 2023

Friday May 12, 2023

2 responses to “Internment of Ashes

  1. Oh, Melissa! I’m crying with you. My heart went all to pieces seeing your photos and reading your words.

    I can’t believe it. Nearly ten years. How can it be?

    How have you survived all these endless days and nights? So much suffering for such a long time.

    My hope is where yours is — with the King. I look forward to meeting Zachary and the great Reunion we all press forward to see.

    Your Zachary is not forgotten here and never will be. You, too.

    Much love ~

    Cathy in Missouri

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment